Latest News

Castlewellan Show AGM - The Team For 50th Anniversary in 2017

30 November 2016

This year’s AGM was held in Maginns, celebrating the success of another Show and set sights on 2017 which will be the 50th anniversary.   Outgoing chairperson Francis McAlinden thanked the many people who through their involvement in committees and on Show day continue to make the event so enjoyable for visitors.  The AGM remembered Roy Graham, former sheep chairperson who passed away earlier this year.  Show Secretary Jackie Fitzpatrick highlighted our involvement with Northern Ireland Tourism’s Year of Food & Drink and praised the standard of all of our local food and beverage exhibitors.   She thanked our many sponsors large and small who enable us to put on such an attractive show.   Guest speaker Raymond Bready focused minds on the future – not just the 50th anniversary year but the next 50 years.   Asking the question where will agriculture be over the next five decades – he highlighted the strength of family farming and the need to celebrate it more.  He challenged the Show Committee on the potential for using the field differently and extending the show, profiling it increasingly to the wider urban communities.  In his role as a Show commentator, he commented, “what I try and do as the commentator – never quite know what I am going to say - I want to inform people what’s happening, I want to educate our visitors on what agriculture is all about, I try to entertain people.   When I talk to people, they are from all over the world and often people who come home to see family co-incide with the Show”.

The Rathfriland Farmers Co-op Promotion Awards were presented

Individual: 1. Kerryhill, Dale Wylie  2. Lleyn, Fiona Cunningham  3. Rare Breed, RJ McCauley

Club:  1. Charollais, Sheila Malcolmson  2. Castlewellan Blackface, John Brennan


The new committee were elected as follows

Chair – Fiona Patterson

Vice Chair – Alan Cleland

Assistant Secretary – Alex Woods

Treasurer – Michelle McCauley

Press & Publicity Officer – Fidelma Carolan

Assistant Press & Publicity – Alex Woods

Safety Officer – Gerard Higgins

Horse Committee Chair – Francis McAlinden

Cattle Committee Chair – Arthur Malone

Sheep Committee Chair – Arthur Kearney

Goat Committee Chair – Geoffrey Ringland

Poultry Chair – tbc

Home Industries Chair – Helen McKee

Show Ground Manager– Rodney Hamilton

Assistant Show Ground Manager – Anthony Kelly

Traffic Manager – Eddie Laverty